Legendary MMA Referee Says Eddie Hall Landed ‘Illegal Strikes’ in 30-Second Knockout Victory

MMA news

A prominent figure in the creation of mixed martial arts rules has asserted that British strongman Eddie Hall employed illegal punches during his successful MMA debut last night.

Hall, the 2017 World`s Strongest Man, secured a swift win against five-time WSM champion Mariusz Pudzianowski at KSW 105 in Poland. After landing a significant early blow, Hall dominated the veteran Polish competitor, concluding the fight within 30 seconds.

However, Pudzianowski has since voiced complaints regarding illegal strikes, which he believes led to the fight`s premature end. Hall has expressed interest in a rematch, proposing a stipulation of two-minute rounds to encourage a more dynamic and explosive contest from both fighters.

John McCarthy Believes Eddie Hall Used Illegal Strikes Against Mariusz Pudzianowski

Following an initial powerful punch, which Eddie Hall later suggested might be among the world`s strongest, it was evident that Mariusz Pudzianowski was affected. Hall`s significant weight advantage was apparent as he controlled the ground engagement that resulted in the quick finish.

Nevertheless, several of Hall`s strikes while on the ground appeared to violate the rules, a detail noticed by legendary referee John McCarthy. Discussing the fight on his podcast `Weighing In` with Josh Thomson, McCarthy commented: “He hit Pudzianowski with a double right and the second one hurt him. It kind of put him back a little bit, he was a little bit wild and he did have some illegal strikes in there. But he got the job done, threw Pudzianowski around off of him in 28 seconds total, and the fight was over.”

McCarthy concluded his observation by saying: “You look and go ‘hey, gotta hand it to Eddie Hall’. He took it serious and went in there. Not the cleanest of wins but hey, he got the win.”

Eddie Hall Offers Apology to Mariusz Pudzianowski Regarding Back-of-Head Shots

Post-fight, Pudzianowski claimed his defeat was directly caused by multiple illegal blows to the back of his head. Writing in Polish, Pudzianowski stated: “I lost!!! 5 hammers to the back of the head were enough and I blacked out. A hit to the back of the head was enough!!!”

In response, Hall has acknowledged the possibility of landing illegal strikes, explaining that accurately targeting shots is challenging when an opponent turns their back fully. Hall addressed the media after the fight, saying: “I do hold my hands up when I say, ‘I’m sorry for hitting you in the back of the head’. I don’t condone that and I wouldn’t want it done to me.”

Callum Thornweather
Callum Thornweather

Callum Thornweather resides in Norwich, where he's established himself as a prominent voice in football and tennis journalism. His distinctive approach combines statistical analysis with storytelling, making complex sporting tactics accessible to casual readers.

Overview of popular sports events in the world